Let’s Salah Istikharah

Salah Istikharah is a sunnah, It is a prayer that one may pray if one must choose between permissible alternatives or to establish a decission.

Jabir bin Abdullah (RA) said: The Prophet Mohammad Rasulullah Shallallahu ‘alaihi wa sallam (SAW) used to teach us to seek Allah’s Counsel in all matters, as he used to teach us a Surah from the Qur’an. He would say: “When anyone of you intending in an affair, let him Salah two Rak’ahs other than the obligatory prayer, and then pray…” (Sahih Al-Bukhari)

Istikharah Du’a:

Allahumma innee astakheeruka bi ilmika wa-astaqdiruka biqudratika wa-as’aluka min fadhlika al-adheem. Fa innaka taqdiru walaa aqdiru. Wa ta’lamu walaa a’alamu wa anta allaamul ghuyoob. Allahumma in kunta ta’lamu anna haadhal-amr (mention affair here) khayrun liy fiy deeniy wa-ma’aashiy wa-‘aaqibat amriy, fa’qdruhliy wa-yassirh liy thumma baarik liy feehi. Wa in-kunta ta’lamu anna haadhal amr (mention affair here) sharrun liy fiy deeniy wa-ma’aashiy wa-‘aaqibat amriy. Fa asrifh annee wa-srif ‘anhu. Wa aqdurh liyal khayr hayth kaana thumma a-rdhiniy bihee

Mean:
“Oh Allah, I seek Your counsel by Your knowledge and I seek Your assistance by Your power and I ask You from Your immense favour, for verily You are able while I am not, and verily You know while I do not, and You are the knower of the Unseen. O Allah, if You know this affair ( mention affair here ) to be good for me in relation to my religion, my life and aftermath, my present and future, then decree it and facilitate it for me, and bless me with it, and if You know this affair to be ill for me concerning my religion, my life and end, my present and future, then remove it from me and remove me from it, and decree for me what is good, whatever it may be, and make me satisfied with it.”

Whoever seeks the counsel of the Creator will not regret it and whoever seeks the advice of the believers will feel confident about his decisions . Allah said in the Qur’an :

“And consult them in the affair. Then when you have taken a decision , put your trust in Allah.” (QS Al-‘Imran, 3:159)

Let’s Pray.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

